News - Doug Jewell Elected to Board of Directors – Stormwater Association of North Carolina

Doug Jewell

November 1, 2013 – The membership of the newly formed Stormwater Association of North Carolina (SWANC) recently elected Doug Jewell to the inaugural Board of Directors as Director and representative from the private sector. Other Board members include Danny Bowden (President, City of Raleigh), Melanie Mason (Vice-President, Town of Hope Mills), Chester Patterson (Treasurer, City of Burlington), Rich Cappola (Treasurer, Town of Morrisville), Daryl Norris (Director, City of Wilson), and Cy Stober (Director, Piedmont Triad Regional Council).

The Board's initial efforts have been focused on finalizing association bylaws, implementing a contract for support services with the North Carolina League of Municipalities with which the SWANC is affiliated, establishing a schedule of meetings and meeting locations, establishing a membership fee structure, and prompting the Association to stormwater professionals across North Carolina. The first full membership meeting of the SWANC with its governing body in place is scheduled for January 27th, 2014.

The Stormwater Association of North Carolina serves as the preeminent statewide organization to advocate for the interests of stormwater programs at the N.C. General Assembly and the N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources. The stated purpose of the Association is to foster professional stormwater management in North Carolina by providing a forum for cooperation and building relationships among stormwater professionals, legislators, state regulators, environmental advocacy groups, and others; creating a mechanism for monitoring trends and developments at the local, state and national level and for exchanging and disseminating information and ideas; and using the members' collective experience and expertise to respond to legislative and regulatory proposals affecting stormwater management with sound recommendations.